Guest Blog: Hailey Glover of Sesame Street Live

Submitted by: Hailey Glover, actress who plays Grundgetta in Sesame Street Live “Elmo Makes Music”

Take a moment and think about the look on a child’s face as they watch Sesame Street on television. Now, think about what their faces would look like if their favorite Sesam Street characters ewere right in front of them, in the flesh — or fur – onstage. Now is your chance to watch the magic! Sesame Street Live “Elmo Makes Music” is coming to Wichita March 9 -11! A show filled with upbeat music, mesmerizing lights, and all of your favorite Sesame Street characters is sure to bring joy to both children and their parents, alike.

My love for Sesame Street began at a young age, as did my love for performing. I have been a dancer since I was five – focusing mainly on ballet – and an avid fan of Sesame Street for even longer. Although this is my first touring season, this is not my first costume experience. Prior to touring, I worked at Sesame Place in Langhorne, PA.Sesame Place was where my love for a whole new type of performing began. Since those incredible summers, I had dreamt of going on the road with Sesame Street Live, but never imagined my dreams would become a reality. On June 24, 2011, I got the phone call that changed my life. I was offered a job with a company I had only dreamed of working for.

The Sesame Street Live cast, with Grundgetta pictured in the bottom righthand corner. M/© 2012 Sesame Workshop. All Rights Reserved. Photographs courtesy of VEE Corporation.

In the show, I play Grundgetta, Oscar the Grouch’s sassy, yet loving, girlfriend. The role is incredible and she is so much fun to play. In addition to this role, I also act as one of the understudies in the show. Because of the nature of live theater, all of the performers – especially the understudies – are required to be on their toes at all times and prepared to make changes to the show if or when something goes awry. My show is never the same two days in a row, and I love it that way!

Life on the road has its ups and its downs, but is overall an extraordinary experience. Since August, I have traveled to two countries, twenty states, forty cities, and performed in over two hundred shows. Each city has been very unique and offers something different from the one before. There is always something to do, whether it is site-seeing or simply shopping. I am getting to see places that I would have never thought to go to on my own, and could not be more pleased!

Also, one hour before the show, be sure to check out the new Play Zone, an interactive play experience. This is an opportunity open free of charge to all ticket holders, and allows a chance for children to play and learn. Kids can high-five, laugh, and dance with some of their favorite characters! So come on out and experience the magic!

I still feel like I am living the dream whenever I sit back and think about what life has handed to me. Performing with Sesame Street Live is unlike anything I have ever experienced in my life. It is simply unparalleled. I highly recommend that you take this remarkable opportunity to come and see Sesame Street Live “Elmo Makes Music”!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49,312 other followers

